Day 10: Flying Home

Our direct, non-stop flight to Portland was sunny and clear the whole way home; I think we left Amsterdam at 10am and arrived at noon, so our entire flight took place during the late morning.  I felt very grateful to get a south-side window seat, so that:

(1) I didn’t have to leave my seat the entire (10-hour) flight, which in retrospect may not have been the best plan, and

(2) windows = photo opportunities!

The following photo may not look like much, but I uploaded it as a full-size file, so if you click on it you may be able to see what’s interesting: a huge regular array of windmills in the North Sea (on the far right, under the wing).

The rest of the photos were spread out over the entire flight, but apart from that I’m posting them in chronological order below, I can’t tell you anything about what part of the world I was shooting – although according to another blogger’s mapping, they could be of Iceland, Greenland, and Northern Canada.  (I say “and” because each time I saw a new land mass or interesting scene, I said to myself “ooh, a new land mass” or “ooh, an interesting landscape” and snapped a photo.)

And before we knew it, we were back home – landing in Portland, driving home, picking up our small furry friend …

… eating olives in the Whole Foods parking lot …

… and walking around the neighborhood enjoying the beautiful spring afternoon in an attempt to stay awake until a reasonable bedtime.

It was a very good trip – and it was good to be home.

5 thoughts on “Day 10: Flying Home

  1. I like the photos, especially shadow of airplane on ground, mysterious photos of land masses, and first photo Max — it is a fine photo of him.

    Flowers are great! Thanks!

  2. Just took a look at the windmill farm. What an installation! Did you see it when you took the image or did it perhaps only present itself after you took a look at the image? Love, Rob

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

