Meet Bruno

“Hi!”

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before, but I like to knit – and Bruno is my latest finished project.  (Actually, I probably shouldn’t say “finished” since he doesn’t have a face yet, and he still has a stitch marker hanging off his cheek.)

But I finished stuffing him and stitching him up this morning, and I’m just so excited I have to post some photos.

He’s my first stuffed animal – most of what I knit is garments – scarves, shawls, sweaters, hats, socks, and so on.  He’s nowhere near perfect, but I’m reasonably pleased with how he turned out, as a first attempt.  But his back right leg is a little duck-toed, and his head is tilted sideways, and his ears aren’t quite on symmetrically.

(Bruno!  Rude!)

Eventually (next week?) he’ll have eyes, a nose, and a mouth.  Perhaps I’ll post finished-product photos then.

I told Maxwell to meet Bruno, and he was like huh?  Bear?  What bear?

Then he thought Bruno was a game  …

… knock him down, get a treat?  Please?

Sadly for Maxwell, that’s not quite the way it worked out.  We worked it out, though, and now they are peacefully coexisting.

10 thoughts on “Meet Bruno

  1. Super cute Bruno! And I agree with everyone else, the best thing about a stuffed animal is the imperfections that give him his own bearinality. Can’t wait to see his face when you’re done.

  2. Wow, thanks everyone. I am glad he gets a universal stamp of approval, flaws and all. Every time I look at him I waver between thinking he has is own individual “bearinality” (nice word, Denise!) and feeling happy with how he turned out – and thinking that he looks like a bat or a cat, or some other pointy-eared non-bear animal. But the friends-and-family approval is good enough for me, and the negative thoughts are probably only my personal Summer 2012 self-doubt talking. (See next post…)

    Now … what to do with him once he’s actually finished?

  3. Pingback: Knitterly Fun | puddle-wonderful life

  4. Pingback: Meet Bruno (with a face!) | puddle-wonderful life

  5. Pingback: puddle-wonderful …knitting? | puddle-wonderful life

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

