Art Quilts by Katie Pasquini Masopust

When John and I visited my family in Michigan, Mom and I spent the last afternoon at the Dennos Museum, which had a special exhibit of art quilts by Katie Pasquini Masopust.  Her quilts are incredibly intricate and detailed, and beautiful.

They don’t look much like what you might expect, though.  From a distance you’d swear you were looking at paintings.

As you can see, she makes some still lifes and landscapes, like the desert scene above and this forest…

… but most of her quilts on display at the Dennos were abstracts.

I believe she was initially a painter, and a more traditional quilt maker, but began to merge the two forms of art, leading to one of the coolest aspects of her quilts: some of them incorporate a painted canvas that she’s cut up and quilted right into the larger piece.  This one has a small square canvas in the upper left, and a larger rectangular one in the lower right:

But to me, the most wonderful part of these pieces of art to me was the intricate textures of canvas, cloth of all sorts, batting of various thicknesses, and of course the patterned quilting on top of it all.  Amazing.

I’ve actually been meaning to go through these photos and write a post about them since July, but it’s taken a while to actually accomplish.  I wish it hadn’t taken so long, but it did – and now that they’re up, I hope you enjoyed them!

14 thoughts on “Art Quilts by Katie Pasquini Masopust

    • I know, I’d love to have one, but they’re pretty much out of our price range (although she has some discounted on her website). But they’d be great to have at home because they’re so interesting both up close and from far away.

  1. O wow, those are fantastic. I’m sending this post link to my sister, who is a quilter, although a more traditional one. I especially love the abstract ones – who knew that was possible in quilting? We recently saw some vintage quilts in The Mission Mill Museum in Salem. They were interesting because they had family tree and important date info sewn into them and some of them came out on the Oregon Trail and I like historical stuff like that. They were tattered though and had lost much of their asthetic beauty. These modern art quilts are just stunning.

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed these. We were also shocked – in fact, when we entered the room we didn’t think we were in the right place, since they looked nothing like what we expected. My mom has just finished her first quilt (traditional style) and was inspired by these. Or I should say, we both were – they were amazing.

      I’d enjoy seeing the ones in Salem, also… Was it a permanent exhibit?

    • I did see on her website that she teaches classes, and would love to take one. I don’t know much about quilting at all, but would love to learn more, especially from such a master (and one with such an artistic eye). Thanks for visiting!

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

