Knitting Socks

Here’s my other current work-in-progress …. and please don’t ask how long “in progress” has been.

(But I’ll tell you anyway – the answer at this point is probably … 18 months or so.  I have had a lot of problems with the yarn breaking, and have been so frustrated with it at various points that I put it down and don’t look at it for months.)

Socks ... still in progress.

I do love the colors, and hopefully the socks will turn out well – and soon – but I will never work with this yarn again.  It’s a single ply and just untwists itself like crazy and breaks every other row.  Not so fun…

2 thoughts on “Knitting Socks

  1. Are you worried about their durability as socks, considering the yarn is already giving you so much trouble? I’m so glad you warned me about single-ply!

    • I am sure they won’t be as sturdy as plied-yarn socks would be, but it doesn’t bother me too much. I do not think the yarn will break, since working it twists it together and felts it slightly, but I am sure it will pill pretty easily. But I bought the yarn for its beauty, and it’s just as pretty knitted up as it was in the ball, so it’s serving its intended purpose, at least.

      (Single ply yarn should NOT break so frequently, though, so in that it is definitely not holding up its end of the bargain….)

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

