Crafting Update

Mom and I visited several quilting shops over the weekend and came away with all sorts of goodies.  My favorite: roving!  It’s wool that’s been cleaned, combed, carded, dyed, and so on – it’s all prepared for being spun into yarn.  Now I know almost nothing about spinning, and have never tried it, but I have been really excited to give it a whirl, and have had an offer of using someone else’s spinning wheel – so when I saw these beautiful little tufts of wool (right) at 50% off, I had to go for them.

Fabric, Roving
Of course, I’m not really sure if I hope I love it, or hope it’s just so-so.  I think it would be great fun to work with a wool from start to finished product … but I don’t exactly need another hobby right now.  Perhaps I can justify it, by saying it’s just an extension of my current (knitting) hobby?

On the left in the photo is an array of fabric squares, fat 1/8ths, and fat quarters that Mom and I picked out to bring home and, first, use to choose colors for another possible quilt she’ll make for us (yay!) and second, stitch into some small projects of one kind or another.  I have to say, quilt shops are (to me) more overwhelming than yarn shops – there are so many beautiful fabrics in every direction – but the upside is you get to use a lot of them in a single project.  It’s fun having such a beautiful (mini-) collection on our dining table.

(Although I’m not sure John exactly agrees with that sentiment.)

 

I also wanted to show you my progress on my gray tweed hoodie sweater.  I don’t have a photo of the whole thing, but I have finished the hood, the edging, and most of the i-cord bind off and all of the i-cord buttonholes.  All that’s left is (1) knitting the front pocket squares (about 1/3rd done) and stitching them in place, (2) confirming that the current length of the sleeves is what I want and binding them off, and (3) sewing the buttons in place (1/4th done).

Bind off and Buttons

 

You can’t see much here, since it’s just the lower edge of the front of the sweater, but it does nicely show the icord bind off, the two buttons I’ve sewed on, and the very beginning of the pocket flaps.  They’re worked by picking up stitches along the bottom edging and knitting upward, then stitching the two sides in place; I’m doing them two-at-a-time, as you might not be surprised to hear.

I’m so close – and so excited!  This sweater has been two and a half years in the making, at least if you count planning and plotting.  And here it is, with only a couple of hours work remaining.  Hooray.

10 thoughts on “Crafting Update

  1. I like the way the edging turned out and I think the pocket method is very clever. I imagined you knitting pockets and sewing them on where this is much more sophisticated.

    • Let’s see. I’m not sure I can explain it easily with words only, but here’s my attempt at a brief explanation….

      I constructed the hood starting with three picked up stitches at the nape of the neck, and then increasing quickly on either side of three radii until I had the number of stitches around that I wanted – then I worked quite a few sections of short rows. The first time, my short rows weren’t short enough (so there was a lot of fabric bunching up around the bottom of the hood) and I hadn’t done enough of them, or enough sections (so the hood wasn’t as deep as I wanted it to me).

      Does that make sense? Otherwise I can make a sketch or two and send them…

      • I’m picturing a very tiny connection between hood and sweater with only 3 picked-up stitches, but having never done so before, I’m probably misunderstanding. Looking forward to seeing you model the finished product when it’s ready!

        • No, you’re right – there was just a tiny connection while I was knitting the hood. Once the hood was done, I sewed its side edges to the top (cast off) edge of the neckline.

          I’ll definitely post a photo of the whole thing, once it’s finished. I’ve got all the knitting done now, and am just getting up the motivation to stitch the pocket edges and the rest of the buttons in place. (And block it… although with such a large item, I’m not looking forward to that part. I have to use the kitchen sink or the bathtub.)

  2. Those little wool balls look like cat toys to my non-knitter’s eyes. My cat goes bonkers for all things wool, so I occasionally buy her little wool fluff like that from yarn shops or craft markets. I try not to tell the vendors what their precious wool is going for, they tend to be offended. My cat is an odd one, she could care less about catnip but will literally yeowl like a wildcat and rip your wool scarf off your neck. Consequently, I can’t wear wool if I want to survive in my own home. Which occasionally makes me sad because, for instance, this sweater you’ve just about finished is SO lovely! Congrats on almost being finished.

    • So sad that your cat loves to destroy wool! I don’t know what I’d do. Well, first, cry – then after that … no idea. Have a cat free room?

      I think it’s great that you treat your cat to some wool once in a while, though. I might feel differently if I’d cleaned and worked on the wool myself, but – cats deserve treats, too. Plus, it sounds adorable to watch. :)

  3. Pingback: Quilt Projects | puddle-wonderful life

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

