Hummingbirds

We have had some wonderful bursts of springtime here, but one of the great advantages of winter is the hummingbirds are still in residence, but since the trees are bare, they are much more visible than in the summertime.  I caught two good ones over the weekend, that I never would have spotted with the trees in leaf.

Here’s one in a katsura tree, looking a little silly with his (I think) feathers puffed and ruffled against the cold, so different from the normal sleek tinyness…

Hummer

 

… and an early morning shot of one glinting at the tip top of a tree just next to our building.

High Hummer

Not quite in focus, but almost…

Hummer Up Close

 

8 thoughts on “Hummingbirds

  1. So cute!
    PS: word press just gave me an error window saying “you are posting comments too quickly. Slow down.” Guess this isn’t facebook :-P

    • Good! I’ll be on the lookout for more, although it’s a lot easier to spot them with a second pair of eyes (John’s, not Maxwell’s). Plus then I have someone to hold the leash and doggie bags, so it’s easier to get a good photo … so I might only be able to look on the weekends.

    • Me too! We had a feeder back in Austin, until one crazy bird decided it was hers and started spending entire days in the tree behind us attacking any other hummers that tried to approach, and then our neighbor put up a feeder – so we got one totally insane bird, and he got all the normal, nice ones. Not that I’m bitter….

      But I do love seeing them in the “wild”, even if our feeder experience didn’t turn out tremendously well; for a while, I was labeling entries in my journal by how many hummers I had seen. (i.e. “a three-hummingbird day,” and so on.)

      I’m going to be on the lookout for them now, before the leaves come out….

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

