butter dots

 

After using a pastry brush to apply melted butter to the tops of some biscuits, we had an interesting phenomenon in the sink, which I’ve never seen quite like this before.

Melted butter forming tiny individual pools ….

Pools of melted butter

then as the water cooled, hardening into dots.

butter dots

Mmm, butter.  Tasty, and so cute in polka-dot format.

(And for my health-conscious family members: don’t worry, we have biscuits only rarely, and usually leave the extra butter layer off.  Only as a once-in-a-while treat!)

2 thoughts on “butter dots

  1. I thought this was going to be a recipe for a second. Butter Dots sounds like cookies. I wouldn’t worry too much about butter, it’s super healthy!

    • Ah, I didn’t think about that. It does sound like a delicious cookie recipe, doesn’t it? Maybe I’ll have to come up with something. :)

      And thanks for the vindication on butter. I’m just afraid that between buttering my toast, pouring lemon butter on my veggies, eating ice cream most evenings, etc. that some people in my family view me as seriously over saturated-fat-ed.

Any thoughts? Leave a reply here!

